The Cost of a DUI Conviction in Maryland

Have you been arrested for a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) offense in Baltimore County, Maryland? Are you under the impression that simply pleading guilty will ultimately save you more time and money than hiring a local, qualified, and experienced DUI defense lawyer and fighting the charge?

If so, think again! There are many hidden costs associated with a DUI conviction that many people do not know about.

Below is a summary of the most common expenses resulting from a DUI conviction in the State of Maryland. A local, qualified, and experienced Baltimore County DUI defense attorney can likely help you avoid many of these costs by helping you get a not guilty verdict or reducing the charge to a lesser offense.

Fees and Expenses Related to a DUI Conviction

Vehicle Towing and Storage Fees

If you are arrested for a DUI, your vehicle will likely be towed and impounded. To start, it costs a maximum of $185.00 for the straight and/or roll-back towing of motorcycles and motor vehicles at the request of the Baltimore County Police Department.  A towing management fee of $24.00 will be assessed as well.  If your vehicle requires winching, then that will cost you an additional maximum fee of $125.00 per hour.  Cleaning up road debris costs a maximum fee of $25.00 per fifteen minutes.  To store your vehicle, a maximum fee of up to $32.00 may be assessed.  An administrative fee of up to $50.00 may also be assessed in some cases.  Lastly, an inclement weather surcharge of an additional 25% may be assessed.  Clearly, towing and storage fees add up quickly and can reach well over $1,000.00 in some cases. 

Click here for a full list of possible vehicle towing and storage fees in Baltimore County, Maryland.

Bail and Bailbondsperson Fees

Following your arrest, a District Court Commissioner may set a bail at your initial appearance that you have to pay pending trial to avoid being incarcerated.  If you cannot afford to pay the bail yourself, you will likely need to get help from a bailbondsperson.  However, in addition to paying off the bail amount, you must also pay fees to the bailbondsperson.

Court Fines

Depending on whether it is a first, second, or subsequent conviction, the fines associated with a DUI conviction in Maryland can range from $1,000.00 to $3,000.00.  The maximum fine for a first DUI conviction is up to $1,000.00 for a first DUI conviction.  The maximum fine for a second DUI conviction is up $2,000.00.  And, the maximum fine for a third or subsequent DUI conviction is up to $3,000.00. 

Click here to learn more about possible fines for traffic violations in the State of Maryland.

Court Costs and Fees

If you are convicted of a DUI, the Judge will likely impose court costs in the amount of $37.50.  In addition, the Judge will likely order you to pay the $20.00 Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund Fee.  Combined, court costs and fees for a DUI conviction are $57.50.

Administrative Hearing (MVA) Fee

In some cases, you may be able to avoid a license suspension by refusing to take a breathalyzer or blood test after a DUI arrest, but this will cost you a $125.00 filing fee that must be paid to the Office of Administrative Hearings when requesting a hearing to dispute the sanction.

Maryland License Reinstatement Fee

If convicted of a DUI, your driver’s license and privilege to drive will automatically be revoked due to point accumulation.  Once you are eligible to have your driver’s license and privilege to drive reinstated, you must pay a $75.00 reinstatement fee to the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA).

Ignition Interlock Program Participation Fees

If you elect to participate in the Ignition Interlock Program

  • The fee for an interlock restricted driver’s license – $72.00

in order to avoid losing your license, you will be responsible for all costs associated with the program, including:

  • The fee to have your license corrected after the restriction is over – $20.00

The cost to have the ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle plus a monthly servicing cost – $500.00 to $3,000.00 – depending on the service provider and other factors related to your use of the device.Once installed, you will need to blow into the interlock device and register a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.025 or less before your car will start.  If your BAC registers greater than 0.025, your car will not start and you will have to find another mode of transportation.

Avoid the Costs – Contact an Experienced Baltimore County DUI Defense Attorney Today

When you add up all the related costs, a Baltimore County, Maryland DUI conviction can easily cost you $6,000.00 and, depending on the severity of the offense and other factors, can exceed well over $20,000.00. This includes towing, bail, court fees, license reinstatement fees, increases in your insurance premiums, and potential lawsuits against you. Furthermore, you may also have to spend hours in court, driving classes, and doing community service – all of which will cost you time at work, and even your job.

On the other hand, you can seek the assistance of a local, qualified, and experienced DUI defense attorney, who can use proven and outside-of-the-box defense strategies to help you avoid or minimize both the criminal and financial consequences of a DUI conviction.  If you have been charged with a DUI offense in Baltimore County or a surrounding area, get help today by contacting our office for a free consultation.

Stephen P. Shepard, our Principal Attorney and Counselor at Law, has been recognized as a Premier DUI Attorney by the American Association of Premier DUI Attorneys, certified as Lead Counsel rated in drunk driving defense, and is an active member of the National College for DUI Defense