Towson Maryland Traffic Attorney
Serious traffic offenses are particularly problematic because they can impact your ability to maintain your legal privilege to operate a motor vehicle. If convicted of a serious traffic offense, you could face jail time, substantial fines, and points against your driver record. And remember, if you accumulate eight points on your driver record, then your license may privilege to drive may be suspended. If you accumulate more than twelve points on your driver record, then your privilege to drive may be revoked. If you are facing any type of serious traffic charge, you should contact the Law Office of Stephen P. Shepard, LLC.
Driving Without a License
Leaving your home without your license on your person is a problem but if you have let your license expire or you do not have a license, then you could be facing very steep penalties. A conviction for a first offense could result in up to 60 days in jail and/or up to a $500 fine and four points assessed on your driver record. Contact The Law Office of Stephen P. Shepard, LLC today if you have been charged with driving without a license so we can fight hard on your behalf to get these charges dropped or minimized.
Driving While Suspended
There are many reasons why your privilege to drive can be suspended: You forgot to pay a speeding ticket, you have fallen behind on your child support payments, or your privilege to drive is suspended in connection with an alcohol offense. For a first offense, you could be facing up to one year in jail and/or up to a $1,000 fine and twelve points on your driver record. For a second offense, you could be facing up to two years in jail and/or up to a $2,000 fine and twelve points on your driver record. Fortunately, there are ways to defend against this charge and The Law Office of Stephen P. Shepard, LLC will fight aggressively to protect your driving privilege and your rights.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident
You hit a mailbox, a shrub, or you knock the corner of someone’s bumper while driving home. You assume that since no one was injured, you have no obligation to report the accident. However, Maryland law makes it a misdemeanor offense to leave the scene of an accident when any type of damage occurs; even incidental damage. If convicted, you can face up to 60 days in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, and eight points against your driver record.
Driving Without Insurance
While you may not be aware your insurance policy has lapsed, it is worth being aware that driving without insurance could cost you plenty. If convicted, you could face up to one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000 and accumulate 5 points on your driver record. If you have been charged with driving without insurance, you need to speak with one of the aggressive, experienced Baltimore County defense attorneys at the Law Office of Stephen P. Shepard, LLC immediately after you have been charged.
Charges of fleeing or eluding the police be lodged if the officer feels that you waited too long to pull over or if you did not pull over at all. This charge must be proven by law enforcement because there are several ways to fight back. Since the penalty for the charge is up to one year in jail and/or up to a $1,000 fine and 12 points on your driver record, you should contact your Towson Maryland traffic attorney at The Law Office of Stephen P. Shepard, LLC immediately if charged with this offense as this is a serious charge and one that could be very costly.